Databases

Ebooks & Ezines

Great Lakes Digital Library   Use in Library | Use at Home


Download digital Audiobooks 24/7 to your PC or Mac and your portable device at home or from anywhere in the world using OverDrive Media Console software for Mac or PC. Download Ebooks using Adobe Digital Editions.


RBDigital  Use in Library | Use at Home

RBDigital is the world's largest newsstand. Now, readers can read 136 different magazines on any screen.  Just create an account using your library card.  To access a step-by-step user guide click here. To access a list of available magazine titles click here.

 

Education


Learning Express Library  Use in Library | Use at Home

Whatever your goal, LearningExpress Library's resources will help you succeed. Each of our Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life.


Brainfuse   Use in Library | Use at Home

Live homework help with Brainfuse. You can use it at the Library, or from home with your Library card!

 

Family History

Ancestry.com    Use in Library

World's largest online family history resource.11+billion records‎


Footnote    Use in Library 
(See Special Collection staff for login credentials)

Main highlight for this site are the original CIVIL WAR documents. “Many documents never seen before on the Web made possible by [a] unique partnership with The National Archives…digital images of records preserved in the National Archives represent a growing collection of millions of historic documents now becoming available online for the first time.”This website is being made available by a donation from the Northeast Michigan Genealogical Society
Access to this site is ONLY available during Special Collections Hours. 


Heritage Quest Online    Use in Library | Use at Home

HeritageQuest Online includes all of the images, and extensive indexing, from the 1790 - 1930 U.S. federal censuses. It offers more than 22,000 digitized book titles, including early family histories and local histories. Additionally, there are more than 250 primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records and more. It also includes Periodical Source Index (PERSI), Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files, the Freedman’s Bank Records, and the U.S. Serial Set Private Relief Actions, Memorials and Petitions.

 

Maps

Sanborn Maps  Use in Library

 

ProQuest Information and Learning's Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides academic and public libraries digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. In electronic form, Sanborn Maps take on much improved value over the microfilm versions of the same maps, allowing for greater flexibility of use and improved viewing possibilities. Users have the ability to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections.